Peacekeeping Pancakes

Most mornings in our house start the same way: with M appearing in our bedroom doorway with the euphemistic “what can I do?” I say euphemistic because he doesn’t actually want to know what he can do; he wants to know if he can play computer games.

Today I said he could quickly watch a movie or play Wii while I got up and made pancakes. A tantrum ensued because he wanted to play on his Dad’s tablet, which I said no to (I’m not sure why I dislike the tablet more than the Wii, but the point rather was that because I had said no I wasn’t then going to give in to a screaming tantrum over it). M’s ensuing roar of rage threatened the peaceful slumber of my second-born and of my husband, who is feeling a little under the weather (legitimately so – some sort of cold/flu).

So I got up, shut the bedroom door and tried to calm M down only to be met with “you made me cry; if you just let me play it I wouldn’t be crying!” Well, quite. Forgive me for getting up to make pancakes and for offering you two other electronic options.

Because of the tantrum I said he couldn’t play any computer games at all because I wasn’t starting my weekend with a tantrum about computer games. M looked at me and said “I’ll fart in your face!” which earned him a time-out spell in his room. I snuck back to bed for a cuddle with my husband and a wistful glance back at a time when I never even saw this side of 8am on a Saturday, let alone had to deal with electronic-device-induced rages before my brain was fully up to the task.

When M emerged he had calmed down so we had a cuddle and went downstairs to make pancakes. We used this recipe but I halved the quantities as my husband was having a (rare) lie in.

M happily helped me to make the pancakes and chatted away to me in the kitchen. When we had finished eating I thanked him for calming down and said that’s a better way to start the weekend. He said sorry without being asked, so when he then asked “what can I do?” once more, I let him choose a movie (unfortunately the movie is the live-action Cat in the Hat which is more than a little irritating).

Peace has returned (for now).

And the pancakes were yummy.

Published by

Burnt Supper

British/American, postgraduate, wife, mother, dog-owner

Leave a Reply

