Pancakes Four Ways

I realised it was Pancake Day too late for breakfast and M was at nursery this afternoon, so I made him pancakes for dinner using this recipe and some added ingredients.

The caveat was that he could have two savoury pancakes followed by two sweet ones. To his credit he gobbled them all up and I learned that I can get away with getting him to eat (relatively) healthy stuff if I wrap it in a pancake. (N.B. In our house at the moment, “relatively healthy” for M means anything that is not a) crisps or b) covered in sugar – not a very high bar really).

Let’s be clear, this was a last-minute, off the cuff and relatively half-assed attempt at a pancake dinner. No amazing hidden vegetable feats here. But I am still happy that he ate them all because usually he says he is full after about three bites.

M had one pancake with peanut butter (spread on and rolled up), one cheese pancake (grated cheese sprinkled on the cooked side while the other side was cooking and rolled up) and one each of golden syrup and sugar (pretty self a explanatory).

I figure eggs, flour, oil and whole milk, with the additions above made for a fattening dinner for my little stick insect. For my next trick I may try cheese and spinach pancakes. He’ll eat spinach ravioli so why not?

Happy pancake day everyone!

Published by

Burnt Supper

British/American, postgraduate, wife, mother, dog-owner

Leave a Reply

